Heavenly Comfort

It is quite useless knocking at the door of heaven for earthly comfort. It’s not the sort of comfort they supply there. ~C.S. Lewis

 

I’m lonely so much of the time. My health is poor and I hurt daily. I was already poor, on a fixed income, and now the price of groceries has doubled.

I never married (probably won’t and why bother this late?) and will never have offspring. Nothing to look forward to in this life except everything continuing to get worse. I’m only 49 but might as well be dead as far as doing anything with my life or having any positive changes. 

It was that way–for me–before the world went rabid and the devil took over everything here. As one of life’s worthless losers I’m sure everything will just get worse. And absolutely no one is looking out for me either.

As a Christian, I have faith in either one of two (good) potential outcomes. Death by natural causes or murder. Or Christ returns and takes His followers to Heaven. A lot like painless mass deaths. (No real difference between the “Rapture” and quick, painless death if you think about it. Why do so many get the biggest thrill out of the “Rapture” and consider death the worst thing ever? You wind up in the same place anyhow according to the Bible.

My faith is being severely taxed. It’s not my head or reason giving me problems, but my heart.

As a college student I occasionally read articles and books about “Faith versus reason” yet nothing was said about where my doubts all came from. “Faith versus feelings.”

In my agony of loneliness–alone all day and night sometimes–I’ve wept uncontrollably. Tried to console myself with thoughts of Heaven. But it’s not working.

When it comes to Heaven my imagination doesn’t work. While I continue to believe I feel no comfort or sensation of hope.

I read a lot of joyful comments about the “marriage supper of the Lamb” we can all look forward to. In my narrow empty bed–alone forever–I tried to imagine it. But the all-too-literal images I conjured up were horrifying.

Some kind of communal mass wedding with countless men, women, and children–all wearing bridal gowns and veils. Including the men! Or–a more grotesque image–of some bridal collective. Meaning a mass of innumerable men, women, and children fused together into the body of one giant woman in a bridal dress and veil. This giantess steps down the aisle to marry a four-footed barnyard animal, smelling of lanolin rather than cologne.

Swap it out with Hebrew customs if you like. The effect is much the same. Collective Frankenstein type giantess goes through marriage ceremony with a sheep.

Speaking as someone who has been celibate all her life–nearly half a century–I don’t know how the idea of such an abstract metaphor is supposed to comfort me. How does such a “marriage” even work?

If I go to a concert or performance I really enjoy and really like the performer and a bunch of other people are there we may have a good time and even bond with others there. But that does not make us all married to the man on the stage.

How is admiring the Throne of God anything like marriage? I realize we’ll be waving branches and shouting or singing instead of just standing. Still more like a concert than a wedding. Let alone a life of marriage and family.

My images sound heretical. So I discarded them. But they go along with the comforting phrases and platitudes I keep hearing.

And the idea of embracing and kissing Christ the way I would a man who loved me romantically disturbs me. Obviously it’s a metaphor not to be taken literally.

But that leaves me with nothing but emptiness. I believe in God but find no comfort in any promises about Heaven because none are concrete or literal enough to soothe me. Mere abstractions and pretty metaphors aren’t helping. My heart is breaking and my soul overflows with grief.

Lord, I believe. Help my unbelief!

Heavenly Comfort

8 thoughts on “Heavenly Comfort

  1. john shaphat says:

    Heavenly Comfort
    Rachel Nichols
    Jan 20

    Examine yourself, to see whether you are in Christ’s holy faith. Test yourselves. Or do you not realize this about yourselves, that Jesus Christ is living His Holy Spiritual life in you?—unless indeed you fail to meet the test! Shadrach, Meshach and Abednego joyfully embraced the Presence of Christ’s heavenly comfort, as their holy faith in Him was tested within Babylon’s fiery furnace. 2 Corinthians 13:5

    Jesus told the crowd, “For a little while longer, the Light will be among you. Walk while you have the Light, so that darkness will not overtake you. The one who walks in the darkness does not know where he is going. While you have the Light, believe in the Light, so that you may become sons of light.” John 12:35

    After Jesus had spoken these things, He went away and was hidden from them. Although Jesus had performed so many signs in their presence, they still did not believe in Him. This was to fulfill the word of Isaiah the prophet:

    “Lord, who has believed our message?
    And to whom has the arm of the Lord been revealed?”
    For this reason they were unable to believe. For again, Isaiah says:

    “He has blinded their eyes
    and hardened their hearts,
    so that they cannot see with their eyes,
    and understand with their hearts,
    and turn, and I would heal them.”

    Like

  2. Ron Fowler says:

    Dear Rachel, your post really hits close to home. Thank you for speaking honestly and openly, and don’t let any self righteous religious people put you down. They love to tell us we are unworthy.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Nobody is worthy. It’s a gift.
      Some people like this image, but it’s only used a few times.
      I prefer others. Like a return to childhood. Children can belong to families without having to get married for acceptance or love.
      My adulthood has been (for the most part) miserable due to my failure to conform and make myself sufficiently attractive. Iatrogenic injury and chronic illness at 20 made everything fall apart so I never had a chance at life. 50 next month.
      I have no idea how, but I know my loneliness will finally be over in the hereafter. If I make it.

      Liked by 2 people

      1. john shaphat says:

        For all of you who were baptized into Christ have clothed yourselves with Christ. There is neither Jew nor Greek, slave nor free, male nor female, for you are all one in Christ Jesus. And if you belong to Christ, then you are Abraham’s [righteous, faithful] seed and heirs according to the [Bridegroom’s wedlock] promise.…Galatians 3:27

        The [neither male or female] body [of Christ’s regenerated, born-again Bride] is aunit, though it is composed of many unified parts. And although its parts are many, they all form one [holy wedlock] body. So it is with Christ. For in one Spirit we were all baptized into one [eternal-living heavenly] body, whether Jews or Greeks, slave or free, and we were all given [the Bridegroom’s] one [eternal-living] Spirit to drink. For the body does not consist of one part, but of many.…1 Corinthians 12:12

        Like

  3. Ron Fowler says:

    The thought of getting married to Jesus seems strange to me. Jesus was or is a man. So am I. I’m not gay. So why would I want to marry a man? Big wedding banquet? I’m a picky eater. I can just imagine there not being anything there I want to eat. I think the church needs to take another look at all this “Jesus is my boyfriend” stuff.

    Like

    1. almatutor says:

      It’s called bridal mysticism. A mystery we’ll only understand when there. But God who is our superior split us into make and female for a reason… To show us a hint of what it will be like to relate to him in heaven.

      Like

  4. This broke my heart to read. I’m so sorry you’re having such a difficult time. Loneliness is one of the WORST feelings. I never really understood the image of Christ as our bridegroom either. It certainly doesn’t help loneliness to visually picture it. I think what it means though is that God loves us unconditionally and will protect and provide for us. That’s what a husband is supposed to do for his wife (in a perfect world.) But because we live in a fallen, sinful world, many husbands are abusive and do not provide or protect or cherish affectionately. They say 1 in 3 Christian women are in an emotionally abusive marriage. That’s a LOT of women who cannot really relate to Christ as her husband. The metaphor simply doesn’t check out and if they take it too literally, they will think of Christ as unloving. (Even though He died for our sins. And He would have died for your sins if you were the only person in the world.) That’s how much He loves you!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment